I am a former public school teacher struggling to shift gears.

Home Forums Making it Work I am a former public school teacher struggling to shift gears.

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Donna Simmons 11 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

gardengirlakr
    Participant

Hello! I’m so grateful to be here.
    We are beginning this journey with a 6-year-old, 8-year-old, and a 15-year-old. I taught in public schools for 7 years, and all the kids have attended public school (the littlest for kindergarten, the middle one through 2nd grade, and the oldest through 7th grade). We have purchased the 1st grade curriculum and are in the process of getting it for the other two.
    I have the 1st grade curriculum in hand. What I love about it is also the thing that is the hardest for me to adjust to. I love the Waldorf theory, I’m just struggling to put it into practice. For myself, I feel like I need more structure and guidance. I’m not interested in changing the lesson to a more structured lesson for the kids – I want to stay true to the Waldorf theory, but for myself, I need an objective so I know what I’m working towards as I’m teaching the lesson. I am absolutely bumfoozled as to how to plan the lessons. I’m sure this is a result of not only my time spend teaching with a very structured curriculum, but also just how I’ve been hardwired. I want to be able to break loose from that but I feel very overwhelmed and under-prepared for this.
    I know that this is a mountain that I can climb, I am just slipping around at the bottom and need a good foothold. Thank you so much for any guidance and advice you can give to me.
    Amanda

Sabrina

Hi Amanda,

Welcome!